

ANU MEDICAL SCHOOL CUSACK PRIZE CONDITIONS OF AWARD

1. INTRODUCTION AND RECOGNITION

Each year the ANU Medical School may offer one prize known as the Cusack Prize.

The objective of the prize is to encourage and promote the development of critical care specialists and in particular inspire medical students and training doctors to undertake critical care as a speciality with a strong academic focus.

The value of the prize awarded is \$500.

The prize is sponsored by David and Elizabeth Cusack.

2. ELIGIBILITY

The award is available each year to an ANU MChD student who is:

- (a) enrolled in Year two of the MChD at the ANU College of Health and Medicine;
- (b) has been assessed as submitting Critical Care related research project; AND
- (c) has presented the findings at the annual David and Elizabeth Cusack Critical Care forum.

3. SELECTION AND CONSTRAINTS

The members of the Selection Committee shall be drawn by the Dean, ANU Medical School, and include appropriate representation from the Department of Critical Care at the Canberra Hospital.

The prize shall not be shared.

If, in any year, no student is assessed by the Dean of the Medical School acting on the advice of the Examiners' Panel as sufficiently outstanding, the prize shall not be awarded in that year.

4. RECIPIENT OBLIGATIONS

The awarding of a prize is based on the information provided to the University. A prize may be declined by the recipient once they have been notified as the prize winner. This must be provided in writing to Medical School no later than 30 days from notification.

If the prize is accepted by the recipient, they agree to the Publication of their name.

In some instances the recipient may be asked to:

- 1) write a letter of thanks to the donor;
- 2) participate in marketing activities and/or asked to provide a reflective statement.

5. REVIEW OF PRIZE

The award will be reviewed:

- (a) at the conclusion of the period outlined in section 1; or
- (b) if any eligibility requirements are to be amended
- (c) after 3 years

whichever is earliest.

6. VARIATION TO CONDITIONS OF AWARD

In exceptional circumstances and on a case-by-case basis, these conditions of award may be varied by the Dean of the ANU Medical School on the recommendation of the Department of Critical Care at the Canberra Hospital.

7. CONTACT WITH THE COLLEGE

All enquiries regarding the prize and changes, issues, or further information after acceptance should be made to:

Medical School ANU College of Health & Medicine Florey Building #54 The Australian National University Canberra ACTON 2601 AUSTRALIA

Email: meu@anu.edu.au

8. DISCLAIMER

The recipient of this award is subject to The Australian National University Act 1991 as amended, and to the Statutes, Rules, Regulations and Resolutions of the University.

These conditions of award should be read in conjunction with the University's Coursework Scholarships Policy & Procedures available from the ANU website.

9. RELATED POLICIES, PROCEDURES & RULES

ANU Academic Misconduct Rules – https://www.comlaw.gov.au/Details/F2014L01785

ANU Discipline Rules –

https://www.comlaw.gov.au/Details/F2014L01792