

THE AUSTRALIAN NATIONAL UNIVERSITY

COLLEGE OF ASIA AND THE PACIFIC

NAOKI MATSUMOTO CONSULTANCY PRIZE FOR JAPANESE AND POLITICAL SCIENCE

Conditions of Award

- 1. There shall be a prize of \$1,000 for award each year which shall be known as the Naoki Matsumoto Consultancy Prize for Japanese and Political Science.
- 2. The prize shall be awarded to the student who, in that year:
 - completed the requirements for the award of a degree of Bachelor within the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific;
 - (ii) achieved a Distinction or High Distinction in a later year Political Science or International Relations course; and
 - (iii) achieved the highest averaged results of the two most advanced Japanese language courses undertaken as a major in the degree program.
- 3. If, in any year, there is no student who has completed the combination of Political Science and Japanese courses as specified above, the prize in that year shall be awarded to the student who has completed the Japanese courses component as specified above and has achieved a Distinction or High Distinction in the most advanced course taken as part of a nonlanguage, cognitive major offered by the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific.
- 4. A student is not eligible to be awarded the prize in any year if:
 - the student is making a second or subsequent attempt at any of the courses; or
 - (ii) the student has previously pursued a course of study in a course, unit or subject (whether at the University or another tertiary education institution), the content of which, is in the opinion of the Dean and Director of the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific, substantially similar to the content of any of the courses for which the prize is to be awarded.
- 5. If, in any year, two or more students equally merit the award of the prize, the prize awarded in that year shall be divided equally between them.
- 6. If, in any year, no student achieves results that, in the opinion of the Dean and Director of the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific justify awarding the prize in that year, the prize shall not be awarded in that year.

TB: July 2013 (Formerly 1464/2010) RKM: August 2010 (Formerly 1497/2002)

AJF: 3 December 2002