ANU on Facebook

ANU on Twitter

ANU on YouTube

2019 Peter Baume Award

Esteemed senior ANU biologist and mentor, Professor Barry Pogson, has been awarded the University's highest accolade for staff, the 2019 Peter Baume Award.

» Read more

2019 Vice-Chancellor's Awards

Staff have come together to celebrate a year of major achievements at the annual 2019 VC’s Annual Gala Awards.

» Read more about the night


Vice-Chancellor's Award for Educational Excellence

Associate Professor Samantha Bennett has led some significant changes to structures of the ANU School of Music’s music technology and popular music courses.

» Read more

Congratulations to our 26 staff on their service to ANU

Twenty-five of them received 25 year Service Awards, while one of them was recognised for working at ANU for 40 years.

» Read more


Staff appointments – New Directors at CECS

Professor Tony Hosking and Professor Chris Kellett have been appointed directors within the ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science.

» Read more

Other awards from the night

Chancellor's Award for Distinguished Contribution to the University – Emeritus Professor Richard Baker

Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Service to the Campus Community – Mr Neill Daly

Vice-Chancellor's Award for Early Career Academics – Dr Zongyou Yin

Vice-Chancellor's Award for Early Career Academics – Dr Sofia Samper Carro

Vice-Chancellor's Award for Impact and Engagement – ANU India Future Research Talent Award Team

Vice-Chancellor's Award for Impact and Engagement – ANU Climate Change Institute, ANU Media and Multimedia

Vice-Chancellor's Award for Innovation and Excellence in Service – Mr Neill Daly

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Reconciliation – National Indigenous Summer School

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Research – Professor Michelle Coote

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Research – Associate Professor Seth Lazar

Andrew Hopkins Award for Excellence in Health and Safety – Mr Xin Li

Clare Burton Award for Excellence in Equity and Diversity – The ANU Gender Institute

In other news

On Thursday (21 November) the University launched a new sector-leading strategy to tackle and prevent sexual violence. The strategy focuses on the key drivers of sexual assault and sexual harassment and what actions need to be taken to stop these unacceptable behaviours - both on campuses and across society.

Would you like to help us out with our new tradition, Grand Graduation? The inaugural event, to kick off 2019 December graduations week, takes place on Tuesday 10 December from 10.30am.

A reminder that the ANU End of Year Staff Kids Party is coming up on Sunday 8 December! There are still tickets available for the afternoon party (1-3pm).

Join Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt as we celebrate the end of the year at the Vice-Chancellor’s Garden Party. It is also an opportunity to thank Professor The Hon Gareth Evans AC QC for his decade of service to the University as Chancellor.

Join one of Australia's most well-known and respected journalists Geraldine Doogue, and an expert panel as they discuss the Australia's past, present and future of international broadcasting.

If you’ve ever asked yourself “how do I make an impact on my community, on my city?" then join us for a conversation with international urban-change leader Charles Landry and discover new paradigms of thinking.

Academic Board News: Freedom of Expression, CECS Cyber Awards and more.

The parking office has recently circulated information to all permit holders on how to renew your parking permit for 2020 or how to cancel your current permit.

Support the ANU School of Art & Design’s Glass Workshop by buying a piece of glass in their Annual Glass Sale, Thursday 28 November 2019.

Professor Frank Bongiorno and Professor Christian Barry have been elected to the Australian Academy of the Humanities.


On Campus on Facebook

For all the latest news, follow our 'ANU On Campus' page on facebook or head to anu.edu.au/news.
Want to contribute to OnCampus? Please send story submissions to on.campus@anu.edu.au
or phone Internal Communications on 02 6125 0259.

The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906 | Privacy Policy